Why didn’t Aman’s goal count for the Canucks while Giordano’s goal counted for the Maple Leafs?

Towards the end of the second period against the Arizona Coyotes, Nils Aman of the Vancouver Canucks from behind looked to level the game by putting the puck over the goal line when the left post came loose.

But after video review, the NHL situation room canceled the call, keeping the Coyotes 2-1 ahead.

/* if ( “1” == true && ‘undefined’ !== typeof window.getIndexAds ) { var so = {preroll:{1:{1:{siteID:191888},2:{siteID:191889}}} }; adServerUrl = window.getIndexAds( ‘http://pubads.g.doubleclick.net/gampad/ads?sz=640×360&cust_params=domain%3Dsportsnet.ca&iu=%2F7326%2Fen.sportsnet.web%2FVideo&ciu_szs=300×250&impl=s&gdfp_req=1&env= vp&output=vast&unviewed_position_start=1&ad_rule=1&vid=6316553799112&cmsid=384’, so, permalink); } else { adServerUrl = “http://pubads.g.doubleclick.net/gampad/ads?sz=640×360&cust_params=domain%3Dsportsnet.ca&iu=%2F7326%2Fen.sportsnet.web%2FVideo&ciu_szs=300×250&impl=s&gdfp_req=1&env=vp&output =width&unviewed_position_start=1&ad_rule=1&vid=6316553799112&cmsid=384″; } */ adServerUrl =”http://pubads.g.doubleclick.net/gampad/ads?sz=640×360&cust_params=domain%3Dsportsnet.ca&iu=%2F7326%2Fen.sportsnet.web%2FVideo&ciu_szs=300×250&impl=s&gdfp_req=1&env=vp&output =width&unviewed_position_start=1&ad_rule=1&vid=6316553799112&cmsid=384”; var adServerUrl_result = adServerUrl.includes(“cust_params”); var queryString=”; if(adServerUrl_result){ var gettheDUFI = localStorage.getItem(“theRED_loc”)

if(gettheDUFI){ queryString += “dufiid=” + gettheDUFI + ‘&’; queryString += “ppid=” + gettheDUFI + ‘&’; var ppid = “ppid=” + gettheDUFI + ‘&’; }

var DUFI_IP = sessionStorage.getItem(“DUFI_IP”)

if(DUFI_IP){ queryString += “dufiip=” + DUFI_IP + ‘&’; }

adServerUrl = adServerUrl.replace(/cust_params=/, ppid + ‘cust_params=” + encodeURIComponent(queryString) ); }

$el.after( unescape(“%3Cscript src=\”” + (document.location.protocol == “https:” ? “https://sb” : “http://b”) + “.scorecardresearch. com/beacon.js\” %3E%3C/script%3E”) );

$( document ).one( “ready’, function() { $( “#video_container-595964” ).SNPlayer( { bc_account_id: “1704050871”, bc_player_id: “JCdte3tMv”, //autoplay: true, //is_has_autoplay_switch: false, bc_videos: 6316553799112, is_has_continuous_play: “false”, adserverurl: adServerUrl, section: “”, thumbnail: “https://www.sportsnet.ca/wp-content/uploads/2022/12/6316553799112-1024×576.jpg” , direct_url: “https://www.sportsnet.ca/nhl/video/canucks-goal-waved-off-after-review-despite-coyotes-moser-knocks-net-off/” }); });

Two weeks ago in Toronto, Maple Leafs defenseman Mark Giordano received a goal in a similar looking game.

/* if ( “1” == true && ‘undefined’ !== typeof window.getIndexAds ) { var so = {preroll:{1:{1:{siteID:191888},2:{siteID:191889}}} }; adServerUrl = window.getIndexAds( ‘http://pubads.g.doubleclick.net/gampad/ads?sz=640×360&cust_params=domain%3Dsportsnet.ca&iu=%2F7326%2Fen.sportsnet.web%2FVideo&ciu_szs=300×250&impl=s&gdfp_req=1&env= vp&output=vast&unviewed_position_start=1&ad_rule=1&vid=6315881801112&cmsid=384’, so, permalink); } else { adServerUrl = “http://pubads.g.doubleclick.net/gampad/ads?sz=640×360&cust_params=domain%3Dsportsnet.ca&iu=%2F7326%2Fen.sportsnet.web%2FVideo&ciu_szs=300×250&impl=s&gdfp_req=1&env=vp&output =width&unviewed_position_start=1&ad_rule=1&vid=6315881801112&cmsid=384″; } */ adServerUrl =”http://pubads.g.doubleclick.net/gampad/ads?sz=640×360&cust_params=domain%3Dsportsnet.ca&iu=%2F7326%2Fen.sportsnet.web%2FVideo&ciu_szs=300×250&impl=s&gdfp_req=1&env=vp&output =width&unviewed_position_start=1&ad_rule=1&vid=6315881801112&cmsid=384”; var adServerUrl_result = adServerUrl.includes(“cust_params”); var queryString=”; if(adServerUrl_result){ var gettheDUFI = localStorage.getItem(“theRED_loc”)

if(gettheDUFI){ queryString += “dufiid=” + gettheDUFI + ‘&’; queryString += “ppid=” + gettheDUFI + ‘&’; var ppid = “ppid=” + gettheDUFI + ‘&’; }

var DUFI_IP = sessionStorage.getItem(“DUFI_IP”)

if(DUFI_IP){ queryString += “dufiip=” + DUFI_IP + ‘&’; }

adServerUrl = adServerUrl.replace(/cust_params=/, ppid + ‘cust_params=” + encodeURIComponent(queryString) ); }

$el.after( unescape(“%3Cscript src=\”” + (document.location.protocol == “https:” ? “https://sb” : “http://b”) + “.scorecardresearch. com/beacon.js\” %3E%3C/script%3E”) );

$( document ).one( “ready’, function() { $( “#video_container-314165” ).SNPlayer( { bc_account_id: “1704050871”, bc_player_id: “JCdte3tMv”, //autoplay: true, //is_has_autoplay_switch: false, bc_videos: 6315881801112, is_has_continuous_play: “false”, adserverurl: adServerUrl, section: “”, thumbnail: “https://www.sportsnet.ca/wp-content/uploads/2022/11/6315881801112-1024×576.jpg” , direct_url: “https://www.sportsnet.ca/nhl/video/giordano-rewarded-wacky-shorthanded-goal-after-sabers-tuch-knocks-off-net/” }); });

So what’s the difference in this case?

Sportsnet’s Elliotte Friedman says it’s because Aman’s goal came on his second shot attempt rather than his first after the net opened.

Another statement came from the NHL Situation Room, releasing a statement that said, “Aman had no imminent scoring opportunity before the goalposts were moved.”

She included in her explanation the part of rule 63.7 which states that:

“In the event that the goal post is intentionally or accidentally moved by a defending player before the puck crosses the goal line between the normal position of the goal posts, the referee may award a goal. To award a goal in this situation, the goal post must have been displaced by the actions of a defending player, the attacking player must have an immediate scoring opportunity before the goal post is displaced, and the puck must be determined to be between the normal position of the goalpost would have gone into the net.”

More from Sportsnet

Mitch Marner’s record-breaking celebration was muted by the Maple Leafs’ overtime

The Oilers’ McDavid is made for hockey night. Against the Canadians, he showed why

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *